Red Velvet Cupcakes

February 11, 2008 at 3:17 am 25 comments

eatyet9b.jpg

I was in a cupcake mood this weekend. I wasn’t in the mood to eat them, just make them. As you can see, I did take a bite out of that one above. I looked on foodtv.com and found Paula Deen’s red velvet cupcake recipe.

Ingredients

For the cupcakes

  • 2 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 tsp. cocoa powder (the recipe called for 1 tsp., but I remember someone saying that there was no distinct taste to red velvet cakes and so I added more cocoa powder for flavor and it helped)
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 c. buttermilk, room temperature
  • 1.5 tubes of red gel food coloring (apparently, I can only find the gel food coloring at the grocery now and for the redness, I needed 1.5 tubes. use 2 tbsp. if you can find the liquid food coloring still)
  • 1 tsp. white distilled vinegar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

For the cream cheese icing

  • 16 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened (it wouldn’t be a Paula Deen recipe without the butter)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 4 c. confectioners sugar, sifted
  • sprinkles, pecans, choco chips, strawberries or whatever else you’d like to garnish the cupcakes with

*Note: If you’re not a fan of tons of icing, you might want to cut this recipe in half. I had a little leftover, but the kids wanted tons of icing. Someone commented and said it was much more than what they needed, so I figure I’d put that info. here.*

Procedure

  • Prehead oven to 350 degrees farenheit
  • In one bowl, sift the flour, sugar, baking soda, cocoa powder, and salt together
  • In another bowl, mix the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar & vanilla on med to low speed
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until smooth & well combined
  • Pour batter into cupcake paper/pan and fill each about 2/3
  • Bake in oven for 20-22 min. turning the pans once at the halfway mark. Test cupcakes with toothpick to see if done.
  • Remove from oven and completely cool before frosting

Cream Cheese Icing

  • In a large bowl, mix the cream cheese, butter and vanilla until smooth. It helps if you’ve got an electric mixer. Add the confectioners sugar and continue to mix on low speed. When the sugar is incorporated, change the mixer speed to high and mix until light & fluffy

Add your toppings and then it’s all ready to eat. ^__^ It was fun making them, but it took a long time. My first 12 cupcakes were more like pink velvet rather than red because I didn’t use enough food coloring. If you’re pressed for time, I’d say stick with the Duncan Hines red velvet cake mix and then make your own icing. heh.

reina-sm.gif –Chelle

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Azuma Sushi & Robata Bar Warming winter squash

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nats  |  February 11, 2008 at 5:53 am

    omg they look the yumz =O

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  February 11, 2008 at 5:57 am

    they were really good, but i behaved and only had one. i let my nephews decorate the rest and they took them home. thank goodness. i totally can’t have that around me. hahaha

    Reply
  • 3. Sofa  |  February 11, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Wow! That’s fantastic Roro!

    Reply
  • 4. whitneymcd7  |  February 12, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Those look amazing. I think I may have to make them.

    Reply
  • 5. pan434  |  February 12, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Oh, those look so good!

    Over the weekend I kinda wanted to make cupcakes at 2am, but I decided not to….

    Reply
  • 6. eatyet  |  February 12, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks everyone ^__^ I hope yall get a chance to make them some time soon =)

    Reply
  • 7. links for 2008-02-13 « (realityloop) embrace recursion  |  February 13, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    […] Red Velvet Cupcakes « Eatyet’s Weblog (tags: baking Recipes) […]

    Reply
  • 8. javamoms  |  April 12, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    These look great!! There is a Soul Food restaurant in Seattle we like to go to that has the best Red Velvet Cake on this planet. Looking forward to making these cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 9. Linda  |  April 13, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I ended up with twice as much frosting as I needed. And it doesn’t tell how many eggs to use. Eggs are not even mentioned in the ingredients list.

    Reply
  • 10. nontraditionalstudent  |  April 14, 2008 at 2:21 am

    I usually find the liquid food coloring in the spice aisle. Don’t know why, but that’s where it is. I’m going to try this recipe, though. They look delicious!

    Reply
  • 11. eatyet  |  April 14, 2008 at 2:49 am

    Linda–Sorry about that. I accidentally left it out of the ingredients but have fixed it and have also left a note about the icing. I just followed Paula Deen’s recipe and it called for that much. Thanks for the heads up on the eggs.

    Reply
  • 12. lori  |  May 17, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I made your recipe, with a few changes I must admit. First, I had to double it because I am baking these for a crowd tomorrow at my church. LOL I replaced 3/4 cup of the white flour with whole wheat and a handful of ground flax seed (just because its better for you). Then because I was good about the flour, I replaced 1/2 cup of the veg oil with butter. I also threw in a dash of chipolte pepper for unsuspecting zing. I also used Paula’s frosting recipe, but I replaced the vanilla with bourbon. My partner and I were licking the bowl clean after I was done frosting the cupcakes. [Have to say, I am looking forward to coffee hour in church tomorrow!!!

    Reply
  • 13. lori  |  May 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Just came back from church where these cupcakes where inhaled so quickly you’d have thought they were divine. Thanks so much for the recipe. They were so light and fluffy; no one even suspected they were eating whole wheat and flax seed.

    Reply
  • 14. eatyet  |  May 19, 2008 at 1:42 am

    oh lori! i’m so glad your cupakes turned out great!! and good thinking on the whole wheat and flax seed. my brother would like that, so i may have to make these again your way. =) –chelle

    Reply
  • 15. Corinne Littlefield  |  April 29, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Your cupcakes look delicious and I am so excited to make them but I was wondering if I could use one of your photos. I’m in a photoshop design class and I would love to use your last picture for one of our projects. It just looks too good to be true!
    – Corinne Littlefield

    Reply
    • 16. eatyet  |  April 29, 2009 at 11:24 pm

      hi corinne. i don’t mind if you use the photo as long as it’s not used commercially and you’re not claiming credit that you actually shot the photo. i’m glad you think it looks so great ^_^ thanks for asking! –chelle

      Reply
  • […] top left: Ni Hao, Kai-Lan: Flower Fun birthday party invitation, red velvet cupcakes, red paper lantern, custom fortune cookie favors, Red Chinese Takeout Box, Kai-Lan cake by Whimsy […]

    Reply
  • […] Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting adapted from Eat Yet? […]

    Reply
  • 19. m  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:59 am

    this recipe looks good! i really wanna try it but can i do without the distilled vinegar? or is there any other substitute?

    Reply
    • 20. eatyet  |  October 1, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      I think you can try lemon juice. you just need a little acid. -L

      Reply
  • 21. white velvet butter cupcakes « Eatyet’s Weblog  |  November 17, 2009 at 6:04 am

    […] many moons ago, or so it seems, I made red velvet cupcakes. I now present you with white velvet butter cupcakes! I’ve been making the white velvet […]

    Reply
  • 22. Red Velvet Cupcakes (via Eatyet’s Weblog) « My Blog  |  December 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    […] 0 I was in a cupcake mood this weekend. I wasn't in the mood to eat them, just make them. As you can see, I did take a bite out of that one above. I looked on foodtv.com and found Paula Deen's red velvet cupcake recipe. Ingredients For the cupcakes 2 1/2 c. all purpose flour 1 1/2 c. sugar 1 tsp. baking soda 1 tsp. salt 3 tsp. cocoa powder (the recipe called for 1 tsp., but I remember someone saying that there was no distinct taste to red velvet ca … Read More […]

    Reply
  • 23. mariel  |  April 5, 2012 at 10:15 am

    do you have a video or tutorial of this cupcake recipe?

    Reply
  • […] Eat Yet? 2.2.6 […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories

Feeds