Homemade apple sauce

April 6, 2008 at 1:44 am 1 comment

The hubby was ill all this week too, and now finally showing signs of improvement. Earlier in the week he wanted apple sauce, I had some apples in the fridge and figured I’d give it a try. At first I was wondering how long do I have to cook it to get it mushy, then I remembered I had an immersion blender (so it didn’t matter). Then later on I realized that I could’ve just blended the apples raw. But I guess cooking it gave it a smoother texture. The red apple skins made it a pretty rosy color and it was far better than store bought apple sauce. I’m feeling quite worn out this week and can’t think off the top of my head what else to do with apple sauce (pork chops, for the meat-eaters?).

Apple sauce

  • 3 small apples (I had the kid sized organic ones from Whole Foods)
  • 2/3 – 3/4 cup water (enough to submerge but not to cover all the apples)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • squeeze of lemon (1tsp more or less)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • pinch of cloves

Core and dice apples, with skins on (if organic, peel otherwise). Put in pot with water, sugar and spices. Simmer for 10min. Take off heat and use immersion blender to puree or put into blender/food processor. If it’s too thin, put back into pot and simmer till desired consistency and adjust sugar if necessary.

Apple sauce in tarts? I have to try that later.

 -L

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, sweet, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

Chocolate madeleines Mad for madeleines, red bean and green tea

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kevin  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Making your own apple sauce sounds like fun.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Feeds