things from the garden

August 26, 2010 at 5:46 am Leave a comment

The garden yield a lot of cherry tomatoes, basil and cubanelle peppers (my bell peppers are few and slow growing). I haven’t been using my rosemary with all the basil around, rosemary will last far into autumn. Here I made a pesto with basil, garlic, walnuts, grapeseed oil, and a squeeze of lemon. I spread it on pizza dough coated in olive oil and push in the tomatoes. Since the pesto had no cheese it crumbled when you try to eat it but the flavors were amazing (you can add cheese to the pesto and it might hold together better). If I were to do it again I would fold the dough over the pesto and tomatoes.

I also made a gazpacho by blending the cherry tomatoes till it was liquid with a few cloves of garlic, a tablespoon or two of red wine vinegar, and a few pinches of salt and black pepper. I add in diced up cucumbers, onions, and bell pepper. Topped with lots of torn basil and some olive oil.

The photos make the peppers look large, these are like 5 inches long.

So far I’ve only gotten one pepper to red.

The black bell peppers are really small but cute and tasty. I’ve been throwing them in any dish that needs more veggies.

-Lina

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, sweet, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

houston restaurant week 2010 Panya Bakery

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Feeds