mini baked donuts

March 15, 2008 at 5:17 am 8 comments

eatyet12a.jpg

This recipe is courtesy of veganyumyum. I tweaked things as always, but my brother showed me this recipe the other day and asked if I would help him make it, and I said yes, of course. Here’s a story though. We went to two grocery stores and a target before we finally found some silicone bundt cake things. We almost gave up on this, but luckily we found some that we could use for the donut shape.

Mini Baked Donuts :

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1.5 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 /2 c. soymilk (we used a vanilla light soymilk)
  • 1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. egg beaters (or any other egg substitute) or 1 egg, whichever you prefer
  • 4 tbs. butter (or earth balance, which is some organic butter substitute)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, mix all the dry ingredients together and set aside. In a small sauce pan, place butter, milk, vinegar and vanilla and heat on low to med heat until butter is halfway melted. THEN, bring heat to low and add egg. I suggest adding the egg last. See, I had to throw away my first batch because I put the heat too high and the egg started to cook. It looked like scrambled eggs.  The mixture should be warm enough to touch, but not hot or else it’ll be too hot for the dough. Be sure to continously mix the wet ingredients while butter is melting. Once butter is melted, take wet mixture and slowly add to bowl of dry ingredients and mix together until you get a soft dough. I think our dough was a little softer and not as clumpy looking, but it still turned out well. Fill bundt pans about 1/2 way. Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes. Use toothpick test to make sure they’re done.

eatyet12b.jpg

Before glazing and adding all sorts of toppings, allow donuts to completely cool. To make chocolate glaze, get one bag of milk chocolate choco chips and melt in a double boiler. To make a sugar glaze, use 1/2 c. confectioners sugar and mix with 1.5 tsp. soymilk. Whisk together and you should have a nice glaze for your donuts. Add any toppings you like and enjoy.

eatyet12d.jpg

We tried not to eat them all tonight, but failed miserably. They’re all gone now. Also, the other recipe says it yields 20 mini donuts, but we barely managed to get 10, so I’m thinking it all has to do with the pan used. See, I can make semi healthy things too! hahaha ^__^ Till next time!

P.S. These were REALLY good. I’m so not the healthy one on this blog, but the nutmeg and cinnamon add great flavor and the texture of the donut was just so melt in your mouth yums.

reina-sm.gif –Chelle

    Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , .

    Blueberry crumb cake Palappam, Indian rice pancake

    8 Comments Add your own

    • 1. eatyet  |  March 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

      now i need to buy a mini bundt pan =O
      -L

      Reply
    • 2. .: Mandy :.  |  March 15, 2008 at 12:43 pm

      delicious! i’m putting this on my to-do list! thanks chelle! 😀

      Amanda

      Reply
    • 3. PaniniKathy  |  March 15, 2008 at 7:56 pm

      Those look insanely good! I’m not much of a healthy cook either, but I love the idea of making (and eating!) donuts that I won’t feel immediately guilty over. Mini bundt pan, here I come!!

      Reply
    • 4. cedar  |  March 16, 2008 at 4:34 am

      My goodness! Those sure look decedent, and delicious!

      Reply
    • 5. Joanna in the kitchen  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:21 pm

      I like them because they are small and baked. I’m not a big fun with dip frying. Too much fuss. Baking donuts is a great option for me. thanks for this recipe 🙂

      Reply
    • 6. Stefani  |  May 7, 2008 at 3:00 am

      Those look so yummy! You’ve got great photos on this blog!

      Reply
    • 7. Mango Power Girl  |  May 9, 2008 at 6:52 pm

      OMG! Baked! I’ve been looking to do this…vegan yum yum recipe…I’ll have to try 🙂 By the way, I love all the illustrations of you guys 🙂

      Reply
    • 8. kristin  |  February 25, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      This was by far the best baked donut recipe I’ve yet to try. They came out exactly like how I wanted them, moist and a little cakey (but not too much). They’re the first recipe (of about 5) that I found enjoyable to eat without frosting or cinnamon sugar or powdered sugar or nutella slathered all over them. Thanks!
      (just a tip for the egg: add tiny amounts of the melted butter to the egg while lightly beating the egg. Then you’ll have tempered the egg and you can add the whole lot into the melted butter without having to worry about scrambling it)

      Reply

    Leave a comment

    Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

    Categories

    Feeds