Curry-ya

August 6, 2008 at 6:00 am 5 comments

Japanese curry is another recent trend around town. I don’t have any strong feelings for or against Japanese curry. I’ve only really tried it once or twice at Jas-mart (haven’t tried Go Go Curry) but I’m reading the manga ‘Addicted to Curry’ (they have recipes too). Guess I just like Indian curries more.

One reason I wanted to try Curry-ya (214 East 10th St. New York, NY 10003) is because it was opened by one of the co-owners of Soba-ya (my favorite restaurant).

I knew it was going to be tiny place with only a counter and the kitchen right behind it, but it was really a squeeze. Be careful, you don’t want to sit right in front of the burners, you’ll be cooking too (maybe in winter it might not be an issue).

The menu has 9 curries, 6 salads, and 3 extra toppings (I just noticed the play on 3s).  The lunch special is a great deal. But after 4pm we went with curry ‘nice set’ that gives you the same things for $6 more; the ‘chef’s daily assortment’ three small dishes plus choice of dessert or (non alcoholic) drink. The desserts are the better value, we chose the lychee lassi (really good) which was listed as a dessert but is also a drink (of yogurt, sugar, lemon, lychee and ice from what I saw). The grapefruit jelly also looked good but we were surprisingly too stuffed for dessert.

Grilled seafood curry

To rewind; we started off with the 3 small dishes of squash, cabbage slaw, and seaweed salad (very tasty, I just inhaled it and forgot about photos). I got the grilled seafood curry, and the hubby had the seasonal vegetable curry. Though I don’t think my seafood qualifies as ‘grilled’, it was perfectly cooked despite my fears about how long it was cooking. It was partially cooked in the oven then simmered in mini pot of curry sauce. I didn’t specify hot or mild, but it had a nice small kick to it. It came with toppings of dehydrated onions flakes, pickled turnip, pickled shallots, and raisins. I put the onions on mine and ate the pickles but I wasn’t really interested in the raisins. The hubby wasn’t impressed with the vegetable curry, but did express interest in getting it plain with two orders of natto.

The pots of curry didn’t look that large and the mounds of rice didn’t seem overwhelming (but I knew it to be equivalent to two bowls). Afterwards we were really really full, maybe the lassi also pushed us a bit over our limit. I think we’d eat there again eventually, when we are in the area and really hungry.

Seasonal vegetable curry

We saw all the Japanese customers there eating curry with spoons only, while the non-Japanese customers used forks. For meat eaters, the New York Times recommends the Berkshire pork cutlet curry.

-L

Entry filed under: food, restaurants, travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

choco hazelnut puff pancakes sandwich cubano + maduros

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. al  |  August 6, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    “The Hubby” what an asshole remark by a mid-west hick! As bad as using “the wife”!

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  August 7, 2008 at 4:45 am

    sir, I assure you we are strictly east coast snobs
    and I only use the term online. -L

    Reply
  • 3. Shae  |  August 16, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    That looks really yummy. ^^

    Reply
  • 4. John P (Cho-Tabetai)  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    You may feel so-so about Japanese curry, but it’s definitly a comfort food for me. My favorite is Katsu-kare, with ton katsu on top!

    I have been meaning to check out Curry Ya.

    I hope post #1 is a friend and joking, cause that sounds really mean!

    Reply
  • 5. eatyet  |  August 25, 2008 at 2:53 am

    we went back and had the croquette and fried shrimp curry, it was really good. i liked the different textures with the curry sauce. We also tried the grapefruit jelly which was refreshing but again i was too full to really enjoy it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds


