16 Handles… of yogurt

August 4, 2008 at 4:16 am 3 comments

Half eaten before I remembered the camera.

16 Handles (153 2nd Ave. New York, NY 10079) is different from the crop of fro-yo joints popping up all over. They have 16 flavors of yogurt (2 of which is non dairy sorbet) and a huge toppings bar. It is self serve; you pay by weight $0.46/oz (mine was $4.30, everyone else I saw filled up far more than me). I didn’t get to all the flavors this time, only the mango and raspberry sorbet, the green tea, plain and euro ‘tart’ yogurt. I found the sorbets a bit too sweet, the green tea was good and so were the plain ones. I skipped all the toppings (diced fresh fruits, candies/cereals, and they also had mini mochi which I always like). I can’t really tell the difference between the two yogurts (euro and plain), but I liked them as much or more than Pinkberry’s. They try to use eco-friendly materials; I love the wood spoons but I saw others with plastic ones too. I think it’s a bonus that you can control your serving size, unless you are not big on self control.

-L

Entry filed under: food, shops etc., snacks, sweet, travel. Tags: , , , , .

spice up your life! choco hazelnut puff pancakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eatyet  |  August 4, 2008 at 4:50 am

    you are taking me here yes?? -chelle

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  August 4, 2008 at 5:46 am

    =D yup, we could go nuts!
    they also have more seating than nearby yogurt places.

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  November 1, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    My favorite yogurt is a frozen yogurt called Frogurt. Frogurt is low in calorie and almost completely non-fat. A small shop in midtown manhattan called Fresh Fruit Bouquet Company carries Frogurt. They make the most delicious parfaits with any fruits, nuts or toppings. Everyday during my lunch hour I hit FFBC and have a parfiat for my lunch, how addicting!! Now on the weekends I am starting to crave it. My favorite combination is Frogurt, banana, honey and walnuts, tasty and low in fat, can’t beat that. Definitely a stop for the fro-yo lovers, hope to see you there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds


