Archive for July 28, 2008

treebeard’s butter cake

There’s this restaurant in town called Treebeard’s (http://www.treebeards.com) and I tend to go there for Friday lunch with the coworkers, because Friday is pot roast day. Oh yes, their pot roast is spectacular, but that’s not what this post is about. Today is about their butter cake. It’s a sweet lil moist piece of heaven that I get every time I go. So I search online and found the recipe. This is my 3rd attempt at this recipe and I think I’m finally happy with it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Pillsbury yellow cake mix (the one with pudding in the mix)
  • 1 stick of butter (melted)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla
  • 1 8oz. package of cream cheese (softened)
  • 3 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp. white sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, mix the yellow cake mix with 1 egg and the melted butter. You should mix until it has a dough like consistency.

In a 9×13 rectangle baking pan, grease the pan with butter and sprinkle the white sugar around. I say 1tsp of white sugar, but make sure it’s enough to thinly cover the bottom of the pan. Place the mixture in the pan and flatten, being sure to distribute the “dough” evenly.

In another bowl, add the softened cream cheese, vanilla, and start off with 1 egg. Mix on medium speed until all ingredients are incorporated. Add 1 cup of confectioners sugar and mix again until smooth. Add another egg and another cup of confectioners sugar, mix until smooth and repeat one more time with the last egg and last cup of confectioners sugar

Pour mixture over flattened “dough” in pan. Place in the oven and bake anywhere from 30-45 minutes, depending on your oven. When removed, the top should be a light brown and look a little flaky. Also, the middle should look like it sunk in. Let cool, cut and enjoy!

It felt really good to bake again.

–Chelle

July 28, 2008 at 3:52 am 4 comments

Scallion pancakes

Well it’s less like a pancake and more of a crispy flat savory pastry. I got the recipe from Basil and Ginger, with excellent pictures and instructions. It’s really good and relatively easy to make (and I usually dislike anything requiring rolling). I used organic shortening, and rolled it very thin (as thin as I can get before all the scallion pieces poke out). I cooked it extra crispy and browned.

July 28, 2008 at 2:16 am 4 comments

Green Tea Cat’s Tongues

I finally bought some matcha for baking. It’s a much richer flavor than the finely ground sencha I’ve been using. The original recipe calls sifting of the flour and salt but I never do it, so I’m leaving it out. And I use a ziploc bag to pipe out the batter instead of a pastry bag (I don’t have one), but make sure you only snip a tiny bit off the corner or else it’ll be very messy. To make it easier transferring the batter into a bag, put the bag in a mug, folding the bag’s edge over the rim before filling.

 Green Tea/Matcha Cat’s Tongues (adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  1. Preheat to 375º. Cream together the butter and confectioners’ sugar.
  2. Add in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  3. Mix in the matcha and salt, then the flour.
  4. Transfer batter into pastry bag fitted with 3/8in round tip.
  5. Pipe the batter into 3/8in x 2 3/4in strips on parchment lined baking sheets spacing them about an inch apart (I did mine a bit thicker and it affected the baking time, needing a few more minutes to make sure it’s not too soft). 
  6. Bake 10-12mins till the edges turn golden (brown).
  7. Cool on baking sheets for 3mins before transferring to wire racks (but if it’s humid or if you think the cookies are still on the soft side, leave on the baking sheets to cool all the way thru).

Kind of messy here, some look like dividing single cell organisms.

Matcha or Kryptonite… powdered.

-L

July 28, 2008 at 12:52 am 4 comments


July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds