Rhubarb and Vanilla

February 29, 2008 at 3:23 pm Leave a comment

inpot.jpg

Two weeks ago, I saw some large bright red stalks of rhubarb at Whole Foods. I bought some on impulse but I had no idea what I was going to do with them. They sat in the fridge for a week before I decided to use them. I didn’t want to make a pie crust. I was thinking strawberry or raspberry rhubarb jam but I didn’t have any of those. What I do have, is a lot of vanilla beans.

Quick Vanilla Rhubarb Jam

  • 3 – 4 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 3/4 – 1 cup sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 1 cup of water

Cut up the rhubarb into one inch pieces. Split the vanilla bean, no scraping needed. Simmer everything together on medium high till you get the desired thickness. 20mins gave me a somewhat thin jam, light and tart with the vanilla adding a warm sweet undertone. You can add less water or simmer longer to get a thicker result.

jar.jpg

Reusing a jelly jar, bottled with the vanilla bean. Made about a jar and a half’s worth.

onyogurt1.jpg

On top of goat yogurt, the vanilla specks are pretty. Also tasty on oatmeal.

lina-sm.gif

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, sweet. Tags: , , , , , , .

Almond Blueberry Cookies Sardines grilled

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories

Feeds


