Cocoa cravings…

January 22, 2008 at 6:26 pm 2 comments

choco
For a change of pace from all the recent eating out entries, here’s something homemade.

On Amazon I bought some baking items in bulk. I got 4 containers of Spectrum Organic Shortening, 4 bars of Green Black Organic 72% Baking Chocolate, and 5 canisters of Ghiradelli Cocoa Powder. With these, I can start my own chocolate truffle business. But instead I’ll be baking chocolate goods for months to come. I was going to go all organic but they didn’t carry Green Black Cocoa Powder and the other organic brands weren’t ones that I’m used to baking with. The Ghiradelli was great price for the quality and quanity, I gave one to my cousin (also an avid baker).
I mainly use Spectrum Organic Shortening for my baking because the hubby refuses to eat butter. Sometimes I like to use Earth Balance Whipped Spread for a buttery flavor or as a ghee alternative in curries. Here’s a quick brownie recipe I threw together to use some of that cocoa.

brownie

Quick Brownies

1 1/4 cup organic shortening
1 1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 cup cocoa powder
1 1/4 cup hazelnut flour
3/4 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
pinch of salt 

These are moist soft fudgey dense brownies, so you don’t have to worry about leavening agents. Preheat oven to 350°F. Cream the shortening and sugar till smooth then add in one egg at a time incorporating fully before adding another (using a mixer). Then gently fold and stir in the cocoa powder with a spoon or spatula (it can fly everywhere using the mixer).  Mix in the vanilla and pinch of salt, then add the flour and hazelnut flour and finish mixing with mixer. Pour and spread out the thick batter evenly onto a greased 8×8 inch pan. Bake for 20-25mins, test with a toothpick after 20mins and determine if it’s done or needs another 3 or 5mins. It shouldn’t come out completely dry and clean when you poke it. After taking it out of the oven, let cool for 10mins and you have warm brownies.

lina-sm.gif -L
Entry filed under: cooking, recipes, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Ozu in London Té House of Tea

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clumsy  |  January 22, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Refusing to eat butter! Does he not like the taste?? I really want to start buying in bulk, my boyfriend’s parents do that and they always seem to have everything on hand!

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  January 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    He doesn’t like eating any dairy if he could help it. It’s not the healthiest thing (and I personally don’t really like cheesy foods/ creamy soups) so I also limit my dairy consumption. I don’t use dairy products when cooking so I can occassionally indulge in some ice cream or desserts with dairy when I eat out.
    As far as bulk, in a household of two, it’s not warehouse style bulk shopping. But for some organic and baking stuff, Amazon’s grocery department is great for items in packs of 4 or 6 (like hazelnut and almond flour). The savings are only a few dollars (5-15% average, 30% if you’re lucky) but with the free shipping for over $25, it’s worthwhile not having to lug it home yourself from the store.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds


