super crispy panko tempura

October 9, 2010 at 12:01 am 1 comment

I fried up zucchini, portobello mushrooms, onion, and shishito peppers (not pictured).

tempura + panko = best of both

I was making Japanese curry (a recipe I never gotten around to posting). It’s a thick curry sauce served over rice usually with fried foods, more specifically panko breaded fried foods (like potato croquettes and shrimp). I fried up some spare veggies I had in the fridge.

I was trying to think of a way to get a super crispy light but crunchy coating. Then it hit me, instead of coating the veggies in egg then breading it, I was going to dip them in a thin tempura batter then coat them in panko. What I got was a study coating that did not turn soggy. (It’s important that the tempura batter is thin like heavy cream consistency, and NOT pancake batter.) I also didn’t lose most of the breading when it hit the hot oil (as I often get with an egg dip). The onion rings turned out especially well, the crispy exterior didn’t fall off with the first bite nor were the onions limp/overcooked.

I used a store bought tempura mix, it’s a huge time saver and I’ve never made it as good from scratch. Do check the ingredients, go for ones with the least amount of addictives and look for panko made without hydrogenated fats.

-Lina

Entry filed under: cooking, food, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Panya Bakery Happy Halloween

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  October 9, 2010 at 6:53 am

    I love tempura. My mom also uses panko when she makes her eggplant tempura.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

