choco chunk macadamia nut cookies

February 16, 2010 at 6:49 am 3 comments

I have two nephews, cute as can be, who are brothers; Damian & Dominic. One day Grandma asked if they wanted macadamia nut cookies, which sounds like you’re saying macaDamian nut. Dominic then said,”No Grandma…I want macaDominic cookies.” So here is a cookie, just for Dominic. Instead of using the traditional white chocolate with macadamia nuts, I’ve used dark chocolate. I based the recipe off a recipe I found on the brown eyed bakers blog.

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 c. butter melted (make sure it is cooled before using)
  • 1 c. packed dark brown sugar (you can use light, but I thought they tasted much better with the dark)
  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c. chopped macadamia nuts
  • 1 c. dark chocolate chunks

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • In one mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt
  • In another bowl, mix together (by hand or using an electric mixer) the dark brown sugar, the granulated sugar, and the melted butter until fluffy
  • Once combined, add the eggs and the vanilla and continue mixing
  • Add flour mixture and mix. Add macadamia nuts and chocolate chunks and mix.
  • Scoop approximately 2 tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball. Place on baking sheet. Flatten them slightly
  • Bake time: 12-15 minutes depending on your oven
  • Makes about 20 cookies. =)

At first I was scared, because I thought the dough was too big, but it worked out just fine. ^_^ I’m so used to making mini cookies. They turned out really good though. I was quite pleased, as were my friends and family. My goal is to bake as much as I want and make everyone else tubby while I try to shed all the pounds. heh.

I’ve really baked alot lately. I haven’t been taking pictures, nor have I been blogging about them. Shame on me really, but tax season is not kind to accountants. =(  Til next time!

- chelle

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , , .

Apple muffins, sweet and tart peanut butter brownies

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. xtopherjacques  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Now THOSE are some tasty looking cookies! Coming from a man who has trouble mking the choco chip cookies from the refrigerated grocery store dough! Ever think of owning a store?

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:17 am

    thank you! and yes, i always think of that. ^_^ i’m sure its much more fun than accounting! remember: cookies can be overnighted or 2 day shipped. if you ever want them, i’d be glad to take an order and send them your way! –chelle

    Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  July 16, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    These were delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

