mexican wedding cookies

January 12, 2010 at 4:26 am 3 comments

Mexican wedding cookies (aka ojarascas) are one of my all time favorite cookies. My brother’s friend’s family owns a bakery and they used to give my brother a tin of these every Christmas, which I was very grateful for. They’re so simple, not too sweet, and I love how they crumble and just melt in your mouth. I also enjoy the almond flavor in them. I’ve been told that even though they are called Mexican wedding cookies, they’re usually given during holidays or other special occasions. So, the cookbook my sister got me for Christmas is Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. Lo and behold, there was a recipe for Mexican wedding cookies. I’ve been wanting to make them since Christmas, but this past Sunday was the first time I had a chance.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. pecan halves
  • 1/4th c. confectioner’s sugar for now
  • 3/4th c. confectioner’s sugar for later
  • 1 c. confectioner’s sugar for rolling
  • 2 c. all purpose four
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 stick unsalted butter @ room temperature
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. pure almond extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • In a food processor, combine the pecans and 1/4th confectioner’s sugar. Pulse them until the pecans are finely ground.
  • In another bowl, add the flour and salt. Whisk in the pecan/sugar mixture.
  • In the bowl for your electric mixer (paddle attachment), beat the butter and 3/4th cup confectioner’s sugar on medium/high speed until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla and the almond extracts.
  • Add the flour mixture and beat on low speed until the dough comes together
  • Roll dough into 3/4″ balls (mine varied from 3/4″ to 1″) and 2 in. apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, rotating the pan at the half time point. (Mine were perfect as 12 minutes, but it all depends on your oven. If you see cracks/crinkles on top of your cookies, then they’re done)
  • Place cookies on cooling rack and allow to cool completely. In a small bowl, pour the remaining cup of confectioner’s sugar. Once cookies are completely cooled, roll cookies in the sugar.

above: flour, sugar, pecan mixture

(i realized i hadn’t taken a photo of the dough until i was almost out of it)

(see the cracks/crinkles?)

The finished product. This lil container was handed off to my local starbucks where I share all my baked goods with them. The rest were consumed by family and coworkers. I will definitely be baking a lot from this cookbook of mine. I’ve tried two recipes so far and haven’t been disappointed. Next week, SUGAR BUNS!!

– chelle

Entry filed under: cookbooks, cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Coconut cranberry muffins lovely fudgy brownies

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tommi Nick  |  January 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    One of my favorite cookies. I think I’ll make them tonight. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  • 2. Brandi  |  January 31, 2011 at 4:51 am

    I made these this afternoon and they turned out well! They are pretty addicting. I like them a lot without being rolled in the powdered sugar too.

    Reply
    • 3. eatyet  |  February 5, 2011 at 5:50 am

      i agree. they’re tasty even without the powdered sugar. you could always try a mix of cinnamon & just regular sugar too. =) glad you enjoyed!! –chelle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

