omuraisu!omurice!

November 2, 2008 at 4:10 pm 2 comments

I’ve been craving omurice since the other night when I was talking to a friend about it. Living in Houston, I haven’t found any places that serve omurice. It makes me sad, so if any Houstonites know where I can find some, please let me know. Anyways, I figured this would be a yummy Sunday morning breakfast!

What is omurice anyways? Basically it’s a sweeter fried rice topped with a not fully cooked egg omelette. A demi-glaze sauce is what usually tops the omurice, but I’ve seen many recipes just use ketchup. The sweetness of the fried rice is due to the use of ketchup rather than soy sauce, and it’s cooked in butter rather than oil. I also overcooked the egg because I was concentrating on flipping it over and making it look pretty. Most recipes I found called for chicken and mushrooms in the fried rice, but I only had chinese sausage. heh. And, I’ve come to the realization that I suck at making pretty omelettes. =(

Fried Rice:

  • 1 cup cooked white rice
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1/4 of an onion diced as mini as possible
  • 1/2 stick of chinese sausage (diced in cubes)
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. ketchup (or enough to add color to the rice)

Omelette

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp salt & pepper
  • 1 tbsp. butter

Add about 2 tbsp. of water into the rice and using your hands, separate the rice. Place to the side. Place butter in pan on med-high heat and allow it to melt. Add the garlic and onions and sautee. Add in chinese sausage and let it cook. Add rice and sautee. Add the ketchup and mix well until all the rice is colored a light red/brown tint. Plate rice once cooked.

For the omelette, whisk the 2 eggs, salt, and pepper in a bowl. In the same pan you used for your fried rice, add the other tbsp. of butter and let it melt. Add in your whisked eggs and let cook. As it cooks, fold over the bottom half of the omelette and then the top half of the omelette, so it kind of looks like a burrito. Once outside layer looks cooked, remove from pan and flip the egg upside down on top of your plated rice.Top with ketchup or hot sauce or whatever you like on your eggs!

You’ll know your egg is perfect if you cut a line right down the middle of your egg and it kind of spreads out over your rice. Mine was overcooked, but it was still delicious. I am going to perfect this one of these days. It’s such a quick and simple dish too.

–chelle

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Mango Almond Cakes a friendly feast with korean bbq

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Altha Schellenberg  |  November 2, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    This is wonderful but I have always used a little salsa rather than ketchup. Try it I know it will be a hit. It is with my friends and family in ND

    Reply
  • 2. r0senr0t  |  November 16, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    It looks very nice…I think I’ll try it one of these days :) though I’m not normally a fan of sweet rice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

