Archive for October 17, 2008

because 30 is the new 20

This post is long overdue. Back in August, I turned 30. My mom felt that was a milestone in my life and that I should have a party. YAY PARTIES! My parents cooked tons of food. I helped of course, but most of what you see is above is my dad and mom’s doing. There was tons more food, but for art’s sake, I couldn’t fit them all into that montage above. I’ll probably get unlazy and make another one for all the other food =D

Starting from the top left:

-Grilled eggplant salad – A dish from Dad. I’m not the fan of veggies, much less eggplant, so I didn’t try it. Everyone else did, as it was all gone.

-Calamari – Dad again. He just mixed a whole bunch of stuff and seasonings and ta da…super yum and crunchy calamari

-Beef w/Chinese broccolli – Dad’s is the best. The addition of the tomatoes made it that much tastier.

-Pork Ribs – Really, what more is there to say about that? They were in the smoker for hours and they fell off the bone and were just sooooo tender. 3 racks of ribs. None remained.

-Woo table decor

-Chocolate chip toffee crunch bars – *Raises hands* I made that. I’m actually going to post that recipe eventually. It was yummy and gooey and crunchy and definitely chocolatey.

-Bottom row. In the center is a Filipino dish with tons of different veggies and you can add either pork or shrimp. However, I was in charge of the veggie cutting, therefore my ode to squash and green beans.

I had the yummiest cake from The Acadian Bakery (http://www.acadianbakers.com). It was the brownie chocolate mousse cake with a chocolate gnache on top. Oh. Their choco covered strawberries are the greatest. When I order cakes, I always ask for more strawberries =) If you need a cake for any occassion, please give them a call if you haven’t been there before. They deliver and you can also pick up. I usually call a day in advance and they’ll have it ready by 9am the next morning. May I also suggest their Fresh Strawberries & Cream cake? Love it.

And so…I’ve reached a new decade. wee!

-Chelle

October 17, 2008 at 11:57 pm 2 comments


October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.