littlejohn’s toffees

August 13, 2008 at 2:39 am 8 comments

It’s been almost a year since I went to L.A. for a cousin’s wedding. We had a few hours to kill before heading to the airport, so we went to the famed Farmer’s Market at The Grove that we had heard about so much. I loved the place as there were all these food stands with vendors selling fresh fruits, meats, etc. I also had some of the best Korean BBQ ever there.

One of the places I saw as I was randomly walking around was this candy shop called Littlejohn’s Candies (http://www.littlejohnscandies.com/) and it had chocolate covered toffees in its window. So, I bought 8 pieces of their toffee sticks. I honestly came back home and wished I had bought more. They were fantastic. The toffee had that perfect crunch. Not too hard and not too soft. Just right. It melted in my mouth and it was absolutely delicious.

I told one of my good friends about the place and for Xmas last year, she had ordered a box and had it delivered to me. Now, this year, for my big 30th birthday on Friday, she ordered me another box. This time, she got 3 lbs. of toffees for me. One pound for every decade. Ha. Thanks Jan! No worries. I won’t eat all that by myself. As much as I wish I could, this chubby girl doesn’t need to be eating 3 lbs. of toffees.

Seriously, I could have picked any chocolate shop in the world, but I love these chocolate/nut covered toffees. So if you’re in the L.A. area and you’ve never been to the Farmer’s Market, you really should. You just might discover a few new things. And, rather than an hour or two there, try setting aside most of your day for it. The whole “Grove” area looked like it had tons of stuff and I was sad I didn’t get to see it all.

–chelle

Entry filed under: food, restaurants, shops etc., sweet, travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

amy’s ice creams Tomato salad from the garden

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eatyet  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    :o want -L

    Reply
  • 2. Maria  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Toffee is my favorite! I want some now!!

    Reply
  • 3. Jerry  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Too bad I can’t order them. I’ll have to get an L.A. friend to pick them up!

    Reply
  • 4. eatyet  |  August 14, 2008 at 3:40 am

    why cant you order? =(

    Reply
  • 5. Lin  |  August 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    yum these look wonderful!

    Reply
  • 6. oneshotbeyond  |  August 26, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    thanks for the tip of that farmer’s market…candy is my thing!

    Reply
  • 7. Laurie Clark  |  December 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I do not like your website. all I wanted to do was order a few boxes of your famous toffee to send to our friends who love it so much and look forward to receiving this gift. When I searched to find order toffee all I received were a bunch or things I did not want. I guress its time to find another candy.

    Disapointed

    Reply
    • 8. eatyet  |  December 19, 2008 at 6:00 am

      i’m sorry you were disappointed by little john’s toffees. for the toffees, you just needed to click on “candy shoppe” and then english toffee sticks. we are not affiliated with little john’s , so you might want to contact them directly if you are unsatisfied with their web design.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

