flappin’ jack buttermilk pancake mix

May 13, 2008 at 4:39 am 2 comments

I’m not quite sure why, but I’ve craved pancakes like no other recently. Normally, I make pancakes from scratch for the whole family, but I live alone now and so I’ve got to find quicker alternatives to get my breakfast in before work. Well, I went shopping at Williams Sonoma because I had a gift card there and saw this pancake mix. There were a variety of choices, but I’m a buttermilk kind of girl, so Flappin’ Jack is what I picked.

Now, the recipe calls for 1 cup of mix and then 1 cup of water or milk, but I thought it was a little too liquidy and not quite thick enough for me. So, I’ve been using 1 cup of pancake mix and about 3/4 cup of milk. The pancakes are still super fluffy and oh so tasty. The recipe says it yields about 6 pancakes per cup of mix, but I usually end up with about 3 decent sized pancakes.

I really couldn’t have picked a better pancake mix. It was delicious and I savor every bite. Sure, you can add your favorite fruits, but if you just want a quick buttermilk pancake fix, this will definitely do it for you. I miss the baking and cooking. Till next time!

P.S. The pancake man on the container creeps me out…just a little bit. ^_~

–Chelle

Entry filed under: cooking, food, snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , .

Granola like Michael Caine’s in ABode Manchester

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill  |  January 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Man am I glad I came across your posting. I was making Flappin’ Jack pancakes for my daughters today and after following the mix prep instructions, I found them way too “liquidy”. Had to keep adding mix to thicken it. I’ll try your 1 cup mix / 3/4 cup milk next time!

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  January 7, 2009 at 8:05 am

    hi bill! hopefully the “less milk more mix” approach works for you! -chelle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

