Granola like

May 9, 2008 at 10:08 am 6 comments

The hubby loves cereal (mainly Nature’s Path Optimum Power) and soymilk in the morning, afternoon, late at night, and whenever he feels like eating something. He doesn’t really miss it when we go weeks without buying any but when it’s there he’ll go thru a box in two days (maybe three). I tried buying in bulk, but it still doesn’t feel like much of a deal. The cheapest organic cereals are plain puffed grains of some sort. I prefer granola, but most of the granola I see at the stores aren’t organic and they are still expensive. A one pound bag of organic rolled oats is moderate in price. To make a bowl of oatmeal you would use less than you would normally consume in a bowl of granola.

So here’s my attempt in trying to solve my cereal dilemma, involving some cheap organic puffed brown rice and organic rolled oats. However, with the added costs of nuts, fruits and other extras, I don’t think I can conclusively calculate it as a real savings. But it’s tasty and makes use of my new glass container.

Granola cereal with almonds, coconut, and raisins

  • 2 1/2 – 3 cups rolled oats (I eyeballed it)
  • 2 cups puffed rice or kamut
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 2/3 cup flaked coconut
  • 2/3 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup golden syrup or maple syrup/rice bran syrup (more or less according to your taste)
  • 1 tsp molasses (optional)
  • 1 tbsp of oil or more if needed

Makes about 2 1/2 quarts (roughly)

Preheat oven to 350º. Coat large mixing bowl with the oil. Mix everything except the raisins together in the bowl with the liquids. Pour and spread evenly onto a parchment lined sheet pan. Bake for 20mins (or till golden brown), stirring it half way thru. When cooled mix in raisins, and store in an airtight container if you intend to keep for long. The non-airtight container is ok for a day or two (which is exactly how long it’s gonna last here).

Will be making more soon, but I ran out of raisins, and walnuts might be cheaper.

-L

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet, Uncategorized, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

My first batch of 5 minute bread flappin’ jack buttermilk pancake mix

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ShopLittleGifts  |  May 9, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Looks delish! I’ve always wanted to make my own – but just have been too lazy. I love love love granola – I put it on almost everything – yogurt + rhubarb/strawberry compote, cereal + fresh strawberries and bananas. Yummmm.

    Reply
  • 2. michelle  |  May 9, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    well, it looks lovely in the container.

    homemade granola is one of those things i’ve been meaning to make for ages, but i just never get around to it. i guess that no matter how much i tell myself otherwise, i just can’t get that excited about granola.

    Reply
  • 3. toontz  |  May 9, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I have made a ton of granola for my children, and I think it IS cheaper when you have to buy so much. Especially the organic granola. Raisins are usually reasonable to buy in bulk and walnuts are usually a little less expensive than almonds (but have a stronger taste). And it is still probably better for you than any you can buy. It looks very nice in your container.

    Reply
  • 4. Kristie  |  May 10, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Nice recipe – I’ll have to give it a try

    Reply
  • 5. Sara  |  May 10, 2008 at 1:56 am

    My family is crazy about granola and sometimes request it for dinner! I’ll have to whip up a batch this weekend and see if it lasts til Monday morning…I doubt it. I bet this would be great to top a yogurt parfait – vanilla yogurt with fruit and granola. Yum!

    Reply
  • 6. Stephen R.  |  May 10, 2008 at 3:26 am

    I make granola on a regular basis. More of a real granola…no puffd rice. But this sounds good as well. I’ve done the math and making it at home is cheaper. With our without bulk purchases you’ll end up ahead. Prices vary of course.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

