Chocolate madeleines

April 2, 2008 at 5:40 pm 4 comments

chocomadel.jpg

I had bought some dark chocolate bars that I didn’t like very much. They were too strong at 75% cocoa without any vanilla and scant sugar in it. So I melted them down with some almond milk, sugar, and vanilla into a ganache-like consistency. I was keeping it in the fridge for a while (wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it). Then I got my mini-madeleine pan just when I ran out of eggs. But I went ahead and made madeleines anyway. So they are vegan now. :)

Vegan Chocolate (mini) Madeleines

  • 11 oz dark chocolate (approximately)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk or soy milk
  • 1/3-1/2 cup sugar (depending on the sweetness of the chocolate and liquid)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup flour

Heat liquid and dissolve sugar. Break chocolate into small chucks and melt in liquid over very low heat. Add vanilla, once incorporated, let cool till lukewarm or room temp before stirring in flour.

Preheat oven to 350º. Spray madeleine pan with oil, optional but they will probably come out easier (I didn’t spray my pans and there was minimal sticking). I tried not to over fill the molds. Bake for 15-17 minutes. This made exactly four batches with my mini madeleine pan (I only have one pan that makes 24 at a time).

I found out that I didn’t have to clean out the pan after each batch. Let it cool for 5min, and pop them out. Just refill pan when it’s cooled to the touch even if there’s a crumb layer stuck on. It pops out about the same each time. They have a fudgy brownie texture. After 15min of baking they are very moist, another minute or two will dry them more and give them a crispier edge.

chocomadelbatter.jpg

lina-sm.gif -L

also check out red bean and green tea madeleines 

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Olive oil almond cookies, kinda healthy Homemade apple sauce

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Giegelgekbekkie  |  April 2, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    WOW … that looks soooo yummy!! my mouth is actually watering!! hehe

    Reply
  • 2. diva  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    oooh i’m having pudding cravings right now. always need a bit of pud whilst i watch a film. and i want exactly that – chocolate madeleines. mmmm. great blog you have! thnks for sharing x

    Reply
  • 3. Joy @ Joy Of Desserts  |  April 4, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Congratulations! You’ve earned an award for your EXCELLENT blog. :-)

    Reply
  • 4. justfoodnow  |  May 30, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    UNBELIEVABLE madeleines. Unbelievable recipe. I concur – it would have to get the Golden Truffle!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

