Yellowfin Tuna Fish Cake

March 10, 2008 at 11:38 pm 6 comments

eatyet11c.jpg

Who’d have thunk Uncle Charlie (the tuna guy) got all fancy? So, I got this recipe from my cousin (thanks jay), and loved it so much I had to make it. I think I slightly altered it, because I can’t quite remember everything he told me, but I could be wrong. Regardless, it was still yums. It’s pretty simple and quick to make, so once again, I made dinner tonight. heh. I’m two for two.

Yellow Fin Tuna Fish Cake:

  • 2 cans of Starkist Yellowfin Tuna w/Lemon Dill in Olive Oil
  • 1/4 finely diced onion
  • 1/8 c. diced water chestnuts
  • 1/3 c. Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 1/4 c. grated mozarella cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs. olive oil (or enough to cover the bottom of your frying pan)

-Start of with mixing the tuna, diced onion, mayo, mozarella and water chestnuts together until well mixed. Then add Italian bread crumbs and egg. Mix until all ingredients look mushed together. Take about a tablespoon of mixture and roll into a ball, then flatten out to about 1/2 in. thick patties. Place olive oil in frying pan and set to med heat. Once hot, place patties in pan and brown (about 4-5 min each side).

Then serve it up with either your favorite tartar sauce or I’ve been told a cocktail sauce goes well with it, too. This made about 20 semi-mini patties.


eatyet11a.jpg

Although I’m feeling a little under the weather, I’m glad I got to have some of this tonight. I can sleep happily now.

reina-sm.gif –Chelle

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Lemon pepper garlic roasted chicken & then some Blueberry crumb cake

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eatyet  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:40 am

    mini patties look so cuuute :)
    -L

    Reply
  • 2. rachel  |  March 11, 2008 at 11:14 am

    cute shot!

    Reply
  • 3. Liana  |  March 11, 2008 at 11:39 am

    You must of read my mind. I have been looking for a fish cake recipe without the mashed potato and here it is! Thank you very much for sharing. Guess what I am having for dinner tonight? ; )

    Reply
  • 4. eatyet  |  March 11, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    hey liana! let us know how it goes. ^__^ hopefully dinner was yums! oh and Lina…my dad asked why my patties were so small and i was like…ummm bc mini patties are cuter. =P

    Reply
  • 5. LyB  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Those look so crunchy and delicious, and simple! I think they’ll make their way into my menu plan next week! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 6. michelle  |  March 11, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    yellowfin? with lemon and dill? tuna has come a long way. i’ll take a couple of these on a roll with some cole slaw…yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

