More green tea baking

February 6, 2008 at 2:12 pm 6 comments

green tea cookies
(my contribution to new year’s festivities)

After the Green Tea Pound Cake, I wanted to bake something else with the green tea powder and it couldn’t be cake, and bread would require hours of rising. So I went with cookies, I was trying to make a shortbread type cookie but it spread out and is a bit on the crunchy side.

Green Tea Cookies

  • 3/4 cup organic shortening or butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 cup flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp green tea powder or matcha
  • 2-3 tbsp water 

Preheat oven to 325°. Cream together shortening, sugar, salt, green tea and 1 tbsp of water, when incorporated, gently mix in the cornstarch and flour (it will fly everywhere if you turn on the mixer suddenly). It should look like wet sand when mixed. Try pressing the dough together in the bowl. And then grab a small handful and try to form it into a small ball, it should feel like Play-Doh (clay). If it’s too crumbly, add in another tbsp of water and remix till you can form the balls. It should make a batch of 20. Pat down the balls of dough a little (try not to form cracks on the sides), place on a lined cookie sheet. I made the indentations on top with a fork. I originally baked them for 25mins, resulting in a crunchy texture. I think that 15-20mins would probably work better with a finer texture, unless you prefer the crunchy.

lina-sm.gif -L

Entry filed under: cooking, food, recipes, snacks, sweet, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Mom’s radish cake and water chestnut cake Year of the Rat

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mindy  |  February 7, 2008 at 7:29 am

    You must have a sweet tooth. That’s a lot of sugar. I usually go half cup sugar to two cups flour.

    I’m guessing one of the reasons the cookies turned out crunchy is because you only used 3/4 cup of lipid. Methinks while the water you added to the tea powder makes up for volume of the wet ingredients it just evaporated when it was heated and didn’t do much texture and flavor-wise for the cookies.

    I noticed a lack of dairy product and vanilla. At first when I saw this I was thinking (shortbread cookie) + tea = (milk tea cookies).

    Ever thought about making this with red tea and spices in the shape of an <3? I mean, Valentine’s Day is coming.

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I was looking at a Donna Hay shortbread recipe for sugar ratios. It didnt taste too sweet, but there’s a possiblity that I only used 3/4 cup of sugar and lost count because I was using a quater cup scoop (but most likely 1 cup, most cookie recipes I see have roughly a 2:1 ratio of flour to sugar). I don’t bake with butter or dairy because my husband doesn’t eat any. As for the amount of fat, I think i might have used a little more than 3/4 cup but still under 1(I was eye balling it), the cookies had a greasy feel to them so I decided to bring it down to 3/4. The texture I believe is from the sugar caramelizing mostly on the bottom, that’s why I think the shorter baking time would stop the browning. I didn’t use vanila because I wanted the green tea flavor to stand out more.
    As for red tea I never baked with it, I generally find roobis kind of strong and mediciny in taste. I’ve done a vanilla chai cookie for christmas. http://eatyet.wordpress.com/2008/01/17/tea-in-my-cookie/

    Reply
  • 3. John P  |  February 7, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Did the flavor of the tea come through well? They look so vibrantly green! I want to eat one.

    Reply
  • 4. eatyet  |  February 7, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    you can definitely taste the green tea. reminds me of matcha cookies I’ve had before but still not exactly the same. I am starting to prefer the ground sencha in baking, I just have to add enough to make it bright green. I think the poundcake could use another 1/2 -1 tsp more tea.

    Reply
  • 5. Vineet Anand  |  February 8, 2008 at 1:06 am

    stop making me so hungryyyy. those look delicious

    Reply
  • 6. doreen  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:17 am

    You know, if you’re in a green tea kind of mood, I’ve seen a couple of interesting green tea-based recipes at Open Source Food. There’s one recipe for Green Tea Tiramisu that looks lovely, as do these Matcha Madeleines.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

