The Chocolate Bar

January 26, 2008 at 6:56 am 2 comments

No, not a bar of chocolate, but a bar for chocolate. I first visited The Chocolate Bar ( 1835 W Alabama St., Houston, TX 77098) a few years ago when a friend of mine mentioned it to me. Since that one time, I have absolutely loved the place and take anyone who hasn’t been there yet. So, when an out of town friend told me she liked chocolate, I thought what better place to go than The Chocolate Bar.

This place has its own chocolate shop adjacent to the “bar” area where you can find an assortment of chocolates, from seasonal designs to your chocolate covered bon bons. But, I must say my favorite area is the bar area. The walls are a bold purple, adorned with candy inspired movie type posters and randomly placed disco balls hanging from the ceiling. There’s plenty of seating, although it doesn’t seem like plenty on a busy Friday night.

So since we were full from dinner, we decided to share a slice of cake. Do you see how gigantic that happy slice of heaven is? Do you see the bottle of milk behind it? You’ll surely need it to get through your decadent dessert. We decided on a slice of Uncle Darryll’s chocolate cake. This moist, 4 layer chocolate cake had the richest, yet lightest chocolate filling. It was covered with what seems like a chocolate ganache and then topped with toffee bits. It was fantastic. Between the two of us, we still couldn’t finish it.

Besides their different varieties of cakes, they also serve their own home made ice cream. I’ve had it in the past, and I think the one I’ve deemed my favorite is the one with white and dark chocolate bits in it. It was just all sorts of yum, and if it wasn’t so chilly, I probably would have had some tonight. I have yet to try everything on their menu, but one of these days I will. There is also fresh brewed coffee and a killer hot chocolate. The staff has always been friendly and helpful and my trips have always been pleasant. I believe the desserts are moderately and reasonably priced, anywhere from $6.95 and $9.95, for the portion of cake/pie you get. Others may disagree, but I have no problem throwing down for some good old chocolate cake.

The Chocolate Bar is a place “Where every hour is happy hour” (yups, that’s their motto). It truly is. Sitting there and enjoying good chocolatey desserts and good company makes a cold Friday night feel remarkably warm.

reina-sm.gif –Chelle

Entry filed under: food, restaurants, shops etc., snacks, sweet, travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

Homemade Girl Scout Thin Mints Restaurant Week NYC, a wonderful dinner at Dévi

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emmarose  |  August 8, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Gotta say, I’m not a fan of The Chocolate Bar. I’m happy you like it, Chelle, it’s just not for me. The ambiance and edibles both seem commercial and mundane to me. As far as ice cream, I’d rather stick with Amy’s (love Amy’s!) or Paciugo. But I have a friend who also loves enjoys this The Chocolate Bar, and I do think the occasional live music is great.

    Reply
  • 2. eatyet  |  August 8, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    to be honest, i only like the uncle darryl’s cake and their night & day ice cream. but yes, i LOVE LOVE amy’s ice cream. i haven’t heard of paciugo’s, but will now have to try it out =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

