we all scream for…yogurt?

January 20, 2008 at 6:30 am 3 comments

Honestly, the only frozen yogurt I’d ever known was TCBY, which I love, but I never really considered it a healthy alternative, because it tasted way too good to be healthy. ha! So tonight, I was driving to the Edwards Cinema off Weslayan & 59, and I saw a sign for berripop frozen yogurt (http://www.berripop.com/index.html). You’ll find it right off the corner of Richmond & Weslayan, in the little center between Chipotle & Collina’s Italian Cafe. Mind you, it’s about 37 degrees outside, and for Houston, that’s kind of chilly. Something frozen wasn’t going to warm me up, but this place looked interesting, so I asked my friend if we could check it out before the movie started. By the way, and so off topic, but 27 Dresses was a really cute movie.

Anyways, it’s a cute frozen yogurt shop with bright green walls, sunshine yellow tables and a variety of frozen yogurts that change daily. The menu seems pretty basic, choose the size you’d like, the type of frozen yogurt you want (pictured above is the original tart), and as many toppings as you’d like, for $.85 a topping. Hey, you even get a deal. Buy 2 toppings and get the third free. There are tons of toppings to choose from..from breakfast cereal like Cap n Crunch to fresh fruits to an assortment of nuts. I chose fresh strawberries and mangos for my first try.

The frozen yogurt tasted more like what frozen yogurt should taste like. The original tart was really light and, as the name states, just a little tart. I totally wanted to try the breakfast foods, but I opted for the fruits and it was fantastic. I enjoyed the fact that eating the tasty dessert didn’t make me feel fat afterwards. Nutritional info is even posted up in the store. 1 oz. frozen yogurt = 24.5 calories. How fantastic is that? They also serve what they call their “Berri Snow”, which is shaved ice topped with the frozen yogurt of choice and then toppings. Then they have a smoothie, too.

I’ll definitely have to take everyone else there. It’s so close to work, and I think this will satisfy my sweet tooth enough. Plus, it’s healthy. Well, healthier than my normal cheesecake ice cream w/oreos mixed in from Marble Slab. ha! Woo for healthy!!

reina-sm.gif -Chelle

Entry filed under: food, shops etc., snacks, sweet. Tags: , , , , , .

Crepes to go Ozu in London

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  March 2, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Hey, a Houston foodie blogger – awesome! I tried berripop and Swirll (also frozen yogurt) a while ago. I missed pinkberry from my trip to Los Angeles over the summer and it hit the spot. :)

    Reply
  • 2. nutritionsimply  |  March 19, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I”m going to have to try that! I recently moved to Houston and am always on the lookout for tasty, healthy places to eat. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 3. Faisal  |  April 7, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    yo i go there like everyday now cause im a fukin homo that loves eating girly healthy foods!!! horray for satan!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

