i love sugarbabys

January 17, 2008 at 5:23 am 1 comment

There’s a place down S. Shepherd you’ve probably driven by a dozen times, but may not have realized it was there. Sure, you’ve seen the pink & black decor through their windows, but just thought “Oh. That place looks cute,” and then just kept on driving by. What you didn’t know is that inside, sweetness awaits you.

Sugarbabys (www.ilovesugarbabys.com) is a cupcake boutique off S. Shepherd near W. Alabama (3310 S. Shepherd, Houston, TX 77098). I only heard of it from my sister who said, “Everyone says it’s really good.” So, I did what most people would do. I googled the shop and found their website. They specialize in cupcakes, and offer a fairly wide variety from red velvet cupcakes topped with a cream cheese icing to their dippity doo-dahs, which are chocolate cupcakes filled and topped with vanilla buttercream and then dipped in dark chocolate. Their menu changes monthly, and different specialty flavors are offered on different days. I love how their website states they’re open from 9am-7pm or until they run out. They even have a private party room which can be used for birthday parties or any other small event.

After thinking about this place for the past 24 hours, I decided to swing by there tonight and try it out. By the time I got there, say 530pm, there were very few cupcakes left to choose from. So I purchased 2 white chocolate macadamia nut, a charming chocolate with vanilla icing and another with chocolate icing, and then a va-va-vanilla with chocolate icing. Can you tell I love chocolate? I spoke with one of the workers there and asked when do the specialty ones run out, because I was really looking forward to trying the toffee crunch cupcake. She said if I wanted the other types, I should try to make it in before 2pm. I was 3 hours late. Sadness.

So, I brought the cupcakes to a friends place for after dinner dessert. I only had the white chocolate macadamia nut and it was DELICIOUS. The white chocolate cream cheese icing was so perfect and even the moistness of the cupcake was just right. Plus, I really enjoyed the white chocolate pieces actually IN the cupcake and not just in the icing.

I will surely be making my way there again, and hopefully next time I’ll get a taste of that toffee crunch or that red velvet one.

reina-sm.gif -Chelle

Entry filed under: food, shops etc., sweet. Tags: , , , , , .

Under pressure… Tea in my cookie

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jan  |  January 23, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Those cupcakes look yummy!! I definitely want to check this place out sometime. Maybe next month we can go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

